Passion

In my course of looking through various blogs, I came across this and it took me longer than I would have liked to get back to it.

Before reading that however, I had been thinking about the topic a bit myself. John Gruber once said;

No one gets into something like this without an obsession, but if your obsession is with the money, and your revenue is directly correlated to page views, then rather than write or produce anything with any actual merit or integrity, you’ll dance like a monkey and split your articles across multiple “pages” and spend more time ginning up sensational Digg-bait headlines than writing the articles themselves. It’s thievery — not of money, but of readers’ attention.

He says other, very good things in that article as well, but that had stuck with me. That if I wanted this to be something beyond a back corner of the Internet where I happen to toss my own thoughts, that only my family and my friends would read, then I would need to be obsessed about something and quite frankly, I don’t know if writing is it.

However, the gist of the 52Tiger piece and the piece that it links to in turn, is that it is ok if you aren’t passionate about something. That most people aren’t, at least not about you know… things. Few people are truly passionate about coffee, or woodworking, or boats, or shoelaces, or any number of other things. Most people are still passionate, they are passionate about their family, or their kids, or any number of other people.

However, here is the kicker, whilst thinking this weekend about this ‘article’ (my running word count at the bottom of the window says that this is word 286, and I have trouble thinking of anything that short as an article). Anyway, with these thoughts about not being passionate running through my head, I realized that I had spent 6 or so hours this weekend designing this;

And this is not the first time this has happened

And this is not the first time this has happened

I have designed half a dozen desks, a TV stand, a really wicked cool coffee table, and any number of other things (vehicles, buildings, you get the idea). It is what I do when I get bored, I start sketching out the next idea, it just happens, and then I sit down and put them into a 3D program like Google Sketchup and then, if I have the funds and time, I will try to build them.

Is it weird that I am passionate about designing furniture?

  1. #1 by Dave on March 16, 2011 - 7:54 am

    Hell, no! I’m in LOVE with furniture, especially chairs from the Mid-Century Modern era. It’s a fantastic thing to be in love with.

    If you whipped that up in a few hours, you should spend many more hours doing the same. Many more.

    • #2 by stuarthollis on March 16, 2011 - 10:58 pm

      I have to tell you, after having read a great many things on your site, is really is something to have you comment on mine. Thanks so much.

  2. #3 by amie on April 2, 2011 - 3:24 pm

    It’s definitely not weird that you’re passionate about designing furniture, because there is a word for it: designer. It’s a legitimate profession and everything! In fact, it’s the opposite of weird, because so few people -even those who love furniture design, like me- can do it. So keep doing it! Next time we need furniture, we’ll commission something from you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

